When asked about the strange angles he got into, Oracle Team USA skipper Jimmy Spithill said, “I’ll tell you, we’re just hanging on really. You’re on the edge of control. It’s very very difficult. Mistakes get made, but that’s what you want, you want it to be difficult. The good guys get it right.”
Artemis Racing had bad luck when their code zero halyard lock released in Race 2. They lost time as they struggled to get the sail under control and on board, dropping to last place in the race and in the event.
At the final mark in Race 1 Oracle Team USA came in with speed on port gybe and sailed past Emirates Team New Zealand, who had to gybe from starboard to port in order to round. Both boats protested, but the umpires signalled “no penalty.” In this situation, the inside boat, ETNZ was entitled to room to round the mark. The boats did not touch, so clearly OTUSA gave ETNZ room. The America’s Cup version of the rule for room at a mark is very different from the normal Racing Rules of Sailing. I explain it here and give another example of this rule here.
View from on board Emirates Team New Zealand during the incident at Mark 6 in Race 1. You can see that ETNZ is still on starboard gybe, but Peter Burling has pulled the helm to gybe.
Oracle Team USA started Race 2 with some excitement when Groupama Team France luffed them at the start, giving OTUSA a penalty. OTUSA then fought back to finish fourth in the race and third for the event.
Oracle Team USA with a penalty they picked up at the start of Race 2.
The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge awarded the prizes.
Ben Ainslie receiving the trophy for winning the event from the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.