Cup Experience

Many America's Cup fans say this is their best source of information.

  • About
  • America’s Cup Guide
    • AC Guide & Calendar
    • America’s Cup World Series – Race Results & Standings
    • Teams – America’s Cup 2017
    • Rules – America’s Cup 2017
    • old AC Guide & Calendar
  • News
  • Videos
  • Search

December 5, 2016 By Jack Griffin Leave a Comment

Penalties – Don’t Tack or Gybe

Groupama Team France and Emirates Team New Zealand both got penalties in Race 5 in Fukuoka after tangling with Land Rover BAR. Team France completed a gybe before the penalty was assigned. Inexplicably, the Kiwis tacked while carrying the penalty, earning a second penalty (per Rule 44.4(c) for you rules mavens. Download the Racing Rules of Sailing – America’s Cup Edition here). Click the photos to see the video. Interestingly, ETNZ made the same mistake in the Naples AC World Series in 2013, after getting a penalty for crashing into Luna Rossa. Read about that incident here.

Remember: the blue light means a boat has a penalty; the green light means they are near a course boundary or a rounding mark.

Here we see how Team France picked up a penalty for not keeping clear and making contact with BAR near the leeward gate in Race 5.

Team New Zealand had a double penalty in Race 5.

 

 

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Cup Experience

Browse All America’s Cup Topics

Recent Articles from the Cup Experience Newsletter

  • AC37 Protocol – Released 17 November 2021 December 4, 2021
  • Protocol Released for 2021 America’s Cup September 30, 2017
  • Oracle’s Disastrous Gybe in Race 2 – America’s Cup 2017 Bermuda September 18, 2017
  • Rolling Stones’ Advice on Protocol for 36th America’s Cup July 19, 2017
  • America’s Cup Brand Identity July 10, 2017
  • About
  • America’s Cup Guide
  • News
  • Videos
  • Search

Copyright © 2023 Cup Experience